Concert Orchestra

The Concert Orchestra is a full symphony orchestra performing at an intermediate level.

This orchestra provides experience in rehearsing and performing a wide range of shorter works from the Classical, Romantic, and Contemporary periods. Overtures, marches, suites, and isolated symphonic movements make up much of this group's repertoire.




Sample Repertoire

  • BEETHOVEN Egmont Overture
  • BIZET Carmen Suite
  • COPLAND Variations on a Shaker Melody
  • DVORAK Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95, "From The New World", Finale
  • MOZART Symphony No. 31, "Paris", in D major, 1st movement
  • RIMSKY-KORSAKOV Russian Easter Overture
  • IVES Fugue for Small Orchestra, from Symphony No. 4
  • SCHUBERT Symphony No. 8 in B minor, "Unfinished"
  • TCHAIKOVSKY Marche Slave
  • WILLIAMS March from Raiders of the Lost Ark

We have also performed works by contemporary Connecticut composers:

  • Christopher BRUBECK Ascension (2001) World Premiere
  • Joseph RUSSO Chamber Symphony: 1. Maestoso